Mediation and Arbitration

Our practice focuses on exploring options for resolving disputes other than the traditional scorched earth litigation approach. These other paths to conflict resolution are often referred to as Alternative Dispute Resolution or ADR.

Schedule a Consultation

Mediation and Arbitration

Alternatives to the traditional litigation approach tend to be less adversarial and include arbitration, mediation, and collaborative law. At Bell, Davis & Pitt, several of our experienced lawyers serve as arbitrators, are certified as mediators, and are trained in the collaborative law process.

We also have attorneys who serve as parenting coordinators in high conflict child custody cases. A parenting coordinator is an impartial person, usually a lawyer or psychologist, who is appointed by the court to assist the parents in making decisions involving their children. Alternative Dispute Resolution offers parties a cost-effective way to craft a creative solution in a timely manner.

BDP lawyers are certified to mediate matters in both Superior Court and District Court in North Carolina in the following areas:

  • Commercial Litigation
  • Business Law
  • Construction 
  • Trust, Estate and Fiduciary Litigation
  • Personal Injury
  • Professional Liabilities
  • Real Estate
  • Divorce and Family Law 

Our attorneys are committed to the benefits of ADR for all parties. We are focused on finding the best possible outcome while mitigating the amount of time, money and stress that parties face.  

With offices in Charlotte and Winston-Salem, many of our mediations and arbitrations are held in Charlotte, the Triad, and Asheville.  However, we frequently are called upon to mediate disputes throughout North Carolina and South Carolina, including in Forsyth, Mecklenburg, Gaston, Union, Cabarrus, Iredell, Buncombe, Cumberland, Moore, Davidson, Davie, Yadkin, Surry, Stokes, Guilford and York counties.