May Property Tax Deadlines for Cabarrus, Durham, and Wake Counties

North Carolina law provides that counties must revalue real property at least every 8 years. Some counties revalue more frequently, typically on a 4 year cycle. Counties can, however, postpone previously scheduled revaluations, as often happended during the Great Recession. Because there are 100 counties in North Carolina and because each county can decide when to revalue, there is no set "revaluation schedule" one can look to to determine in what year a specific county will revalue. The Department of Revenue does maintian a list on its website setting forth scheduled revaluation dates for the counties. This list is only updated periodically, so it is wise to check with the specific county to confirm its scheduled revaluation year.

Appeals of property tax assessments are not limited to revaluation years. A property owner can appeal its valuation in any year [unless res judicata applies because the property owner already appealed the value established in the latest revaluation and the PTC has determined the value by settlement or decision]. Since the benefits of any successful appeal are prospective only, however, it is more cost effective to appeal in a revaluation year.

In order to preserve its appeal rights, a property owner must appeal to the the local board of equalization and review ["BER"] before the deadline set by the county. Again, unfortunately, there is no set statewide deadline, as each county can establish its own deadline. The BER cannot begin to meet before the first Monday in April so, by definition, any appeal filed before that deadline is timely. The lastest deadline I have seen is June 30.

In a previous post, we mentioned some of the large counties that were revaluing in 2016. These included Cabarrus, Durham, and Wake counties. The BER appeal deadlines have now been set in these counties as follows:

Cabarrus-----May 10

Durham----May 2

Wake-----May 18

If you have properties in these counties and want to preserve your appeal rights, appeals must be filed by the above dates. A failure to appeal by these deadlines means you have lost your right to any relief for 2016 and must appeal in 2017 to get any relief.


Image by flickr user Dan4th Nicholas. Available for use per Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Generic (CC BY 3.0).

About the Author

John Cocklereece headshot

John A. Cocklereece, Jr.

John Cocklereece concentrates his practice on property tax appeals, business law, tax controversies, and estate planning and administration.
Email John

More Reading